Important COVID-19 / Coronavirus information and FAQs

AA student work is the School’s greatest asset. In recognition of this, the AA awards prizes and distinctions at all levels. The list of prizes for the end of each academic year is announced at the Graduation Ceremony preceding the opening of Projects Review. In 2009/10 the prizes were awarded as follows:

Henry Florence Studentship

Established in 1916 in the name of the AA President 1878–79.
Zachary Fluker Third Year, Intermediate Unit 10
Tutors Claudia Pasquero and Marco Poletto
Extract from AA Inter 10 book, The World Dubai Marine Life Incubators – ecoMachines v3.0

Alex Stanhope Forbes Prize

For work in the field of colour.
Lara Lesmes Fourth Year, Diploma Unit 9
Tutors Natasha Sandmeier and Monia de Marchi

AA Travel Studentship

To travel in the UK or abroad.
James Kwang-ho Chung Third Year, Intermediate Unit 4
Tutors Nathalie Rozencwajg and Michel da Costa Gonçalves

Howard Colls Studentship

For best drawings at the end of Fourth Year.
Alma Ying Yi Wang Fourth Year, Diploma Unit 13
Tutors Oliver Domeisen and Tristan Simmonds

Alexander Memorial Travel Fund

Max Hacke
Third Year, Intermediate Unit 8
Tutors, Francisco Gonzalez de Canales and Nuria Alvarez Lombardero

Henry Saxon Snell Scholarship

To encourage design, construction of hospitals, convalescent homes and asylums.
Amber Wood Fifth Year, Diploma Unit 10
Tutor, Carlos Villanueva Brandt

William Glover Bequest

Established in 1913.
Huida Xia Second Year, Intermediate Unit 13
Tutors, Miraj Ahmed and Martin Jameson

Ralph Knott Memorial Fund

For necessitous students with promise.
Yheu-Shen Chua Third Year, Intermediate Unit 11
Tutors, Theo Sarantoglou Lalis and Dora Sweijd

AA Prize

For significant contributions to the AA.
Camille Steyaert Third Year, Intermediate Unit 1
Tutors, Mark Campbell and Deane Simpson

Holloway Trust

Traditionally awarded for work related to the building and construction industry.
James Rai Fourth Year, Diploma Unit 7
Tutors, Simon Beames and Kenneth Fraser
Erlend Skjeseth Fifth Year, Diploma Unit 11
Tutor, Shin Egashira
Elliott Krause Fifth Year, Diploma Unit 16
Tutors, Jonas Lundberg and Andrew Yau

Julia Wood Foundation Prize

Albane Duvillier Foundation Course
Tutor, Saskia Lewis

Nicholas Boas Travel Award, Akhil Bakhda

Wiktor Kidziak, First Year
Jerome Tsui, Fourth Year

Foster & Partners Prize

The Foster Prize is awarded annually to the AA Fifth Year Diploma student whose portfolio best addresses the themes of sustainability and infrastructure. The essential aims of this new prize are to forge links between Foster + Partners and the AA and to encourage students to address themes that are of increasing relevance to architecture and contemporary architectural discourse more globally. Following a jury of shortlisted portfolios, the winner is presented with a cheque at the AA’s Graduation Awards Ceremony in June. The winner and shortlisted work are invited to exhibit their work in Foster + Partners' studio gallery in September, when there will be a formal reception.
Aimee O’Carroll Fifth Year, Diploma Unit 11, for her work entitled ‘White Chapel Urban Artery’.
Tutor, Shin Egashira

Nicolas Pozner Prize

The Nicholas Pozner Prize for ‘Single Best Drawing’ is awarded annually in memory of Nick Pozner, as a tribute to the talent and promise he showed during his time at the AA, as reflected in dedication and impressive precision and beauty of his drawings. At the end of each academic year, drawings are selected from across the Undergraduate School during the end of year Reviews, with a final selection made by jury out of a shortlist of entries. The AA is grateful to his family and friends for the inspiration and dedication shown in setting up and supporting this prize of £1000.
Frederik Hellberg Fourth Year, Diploma Unit 13
Tutors, Oliver Domeisen and Tristan Simmonds

Dennis Sharp Prize for Excellence in Writing

Simon Whittle Fifth Year, Diploma Unit 14
Tutors Pier Vittorio Aureli, Barbara Campbell-Lange and Fenella Collingridge

Scrap Marshall Fourth Year, Dip 11
Essay: No Escape From Modernity and Modernism – Cary Grant, Shaving and the Uninhabitable Dream (pdf)
Aram Mooradian Fifth Year, Dip 6
Essay: Fly-In, Fly-Out. Fit-In or F*** Off (pdf)
Sylvie Taher Fifth Year, Dip 11
Thesis: Architects Vs. The City (pdf)

Technical Studies Awards 2010/11

TS staff are delighted to announce that the following students have been awarded a high pass for their TS Design Project.

Third Year students: Chen Zhan Inter 1; Antonis Papamichael Inter 2; Basmah Kaki Inter 3; Seung Youb Lee Inter 3; Ariadna Barthe Inter 6; Golshid Varasteh Kia Inter 6; Ja Kyung Kim Inter 9; Charlotte Moe Inter 9 – High Pass with Distinction and prizewinner for best technical project in the Third Year. Stefan Laxness Inter 13; Georges Massoud Inter 13

Fifth Year students: Sarah Huelin Dip 3; Natapa Sriyuksiri Dip 3; John Ng Dip 5; Seung Joon Oh Dip 5; Edward Pearce Dip 6; Gustav Dusing Dip 8; Katerina Scoufaridou Dip 9; Jan Nauta Dip 10; Julin Ang Dip 11; Jon Lopez Dip 11 – High Pass with Distinction and prizewinner for best technical thesis in the Fifth Year. David Nightingale Dip 13; Calvin Chua Dip 14; Jerome Tsui Dip 14; Nicos Yiatros Dip 17; Eugene Duck Lee Dip 18


Admissions Co-ordinator
Registrar’s Office
AA School of Architecture
36 Bedford Square
London WC1B 3ES

T: 020 7887 4051
F: 020 7414 0779

The Architectural Association, Inc. is incorporated as a company limited by guarantee (No.171402) and registered as a charity (No. 311083). Registered office: 36 Bedford Square, London WC1B 3ES, 020 7887 4000

Click here to read the AA’s latest review report.

Click here to read the AA’s latest action plan.



The Architectural Association receives Taught Degree Awarding Powers by the Lords of Her Majesty’s Most Honourable Privy Council.

The Architectural Association (AA), the oldest independent school of architecture in the United Kingdom, is pleased to announce that it has been granted the power to award its own degrees. As of 1 October 2019, the AA has the right to establish new academic programmes and degree awards and is working to create some of the world’s most pioneering courses in architecture to shape and build the future.

Taught Degree Awarding Powers (TDAP) give UK higher education institutions the right to award bachelor’s and master’s degrees. Prospective students worldwide can apply to the AA Foundation Course (Foundation Diploma), Experimental Programme BA(Hons), Diploma Programme (MArch), and nine taught postgraduate programmes encompassing History and Critical Thinking in Architecture (MA), Projective Cities (Taught MPhil) and Sustainable Environmental Design (MSc/MArch), amongst others.

AA Director, Eva Franch said, ‘since our founding in 1847 we have never ceased to create new horizons, institutionally and academically. This is a significant milestone for the AA and demonstrates how we have grown and progressed as an institution that has always valued independence. Receiving TDAP marks a new era for our institution; these are exciting times for the AA. The process has required considerable work from all members of staff and students. I would like to take this opportunity to credit them for this major achievement’.

President of the AA Council, Victoria Thornton added, ‘the TDAP process has recognised our strong governance, academic standards, scholarship and teaching as well as the environment supporting the delivery of taught higher education programmes’.

The School’s application for Taught Degree Awarding Powers was supported by the Architects Registration Board, the Royal Institute of British Architects and The Open University.