Each year the Architectural Association awards more than 70 scholarships and bursaries to undergraduate students studying on RIBA/ARB-recognised courses. Scholarships are offered to First, Second and Fourth Year applicants who demonstrate academic excellence and financial need. These scholarships are available for three and two years respectively, subject always to continuing progress. All applicants to the main undergraduate course are eligible to apply for a scholarship, regardless of nationality or background. Any student in receipt of a scholarship is not eligible to apply for a bursary. Please note that scholarships are not available for students on Foundation or Visiting Students courses.

Application procedure

A summary of the scholarship application procedure can be found here.
Undergraduate applicants must complete and submit the main application form no later than 18 November 2013, stating their interest in an AA Scholarship in the Scholarships and Awards section of the form. There is no need to specify a scholarship as this will be decided by the Scholarship Committee. Students whose work is considered to be of Scholarship standard will be asked, after their entry interview, to complete a Scholarship application form, provide financial information and prepare a portfolio for the Scholarship Committee.

The AA is committed to giving as many talented students as possible the opportunity to study. Although the official scholarship deadline has passed, due to the change in application deadlines for the 2014/15 academic year we will continue to review all applications based on merit. If you would like to be considered for financial assistance please indicate this on your application form.

Amount of financial assistance
Most scholarships are equivalent to one-third or two-thirds of the annual fees.

List of AA scholarships

David Allford Scholarship

This scholarship was set up to honour the memory of David Allford (1927–1997), a partner of YRM Architects, trustee of the AA Foundation, and friend and benefactor of the AA. It is awarded to a British student who demonstrates both academic excellence and a need for financial aid. This award was made possible by the generous support of David Allford’s friends and family.

Alvin Boyarsky Scholarship

As Chairman of the Architectural Association from 1971 to 1990, Alvin Boyarsky was an outstanding figure in the field of architectural education, transforming the AA into an internationally respected school and a forum for architectural experiment and debate. The fund for this award was set up through the generous support of many of Alvin’s friends. The scholarship is for one term’s fees, and is awarded to a talented student in need of financial assistance.

Martin Caroe Memorial Scholarship

This award was established to honour the memory of Martin Bragg Caroe, whose collaboration with the AA School was instrumental in the establishment of the postgraduate course in Building Conservation. The scholarship has been made possible through the generous support of Martin Caroe’s architectural practice, Caroe & Partners. It covers one term's fees in the second year of the Building Conservation course, and is awarded on a broad consideration of merit and the individual’s need for support. Applicants are invited to notify the administrative coordinator of the course.

Stephen Lawrence Scholarship

This award, in memory of the young man who was murdered in a brutal racist attack on 22 April 1993, was established with the support of the family of Stephen Lawrence, the Stephen Lawrence Trust, and a number of generous private donations. Applications are particularly welcome from members of ethnic minorities, who are at present under-represented in architectural education; ideally, applicants should be incoming First Year students. Applicants must demonstrate both merit and the need for financial aid.

Eileen Gray Fund

The Eileen Gray Fund for AA students was established in 1980 by Prunella Clough-Taylor, the distinguished architect and furniture-designer’s niece, in recognition of Eileen Gray’s concern for architectural training. A bequest from Ms Clough-Taylor expanded the scope of this fund, which awards a series of bursaries and scholarships every year, to talented students in need of financial assistance.

Andrew Szmidla Bequest

The Andrew Szmidla Bequest was established in late 2011. Andrew Szmidla, who taught at the AA in the 1970s, left a bequest that will be used to fund a series of scholarships and bursaries for undergraduate and postgraduate students from Eastern Europe.

For non-AA sources of funding please see this PDF
Read about the 2012/13 award winners


Architectural Association
(AA) School of Architecture
36 Bedford Square
London WC1B 3ES
T +44 (0) 20 7887 4051
F +44 (0) 20 7414 0779

Links & downloads



Prospectus 2016-17
Foundation Course Booklet

Graduate Prospectus



Prospectus 2016-17
AA Prospectus

Undergraduate Course Booklet
Undergraduate Course Booklet

Language courses


Share |

Click here to read the AA’s latest review report.

Click here to read the AA’s latest action plan.