Nikolaus Hirsch

POSTPONED - Do We Dream Under The Same Sky

Series: POSTPONED - Lunchtime Lecture
Date: Tuesday 12 February 2019
Time: 13:00
Venue: AA Lecture Hall
Running time: 0 mins

Please note: this lecture has had to be postponed at short notice due to unforeseen circumstances. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. 

Do We Dream Under The Same Sky asks what we have in common when we plan a building or a city; when we collaborate with colleagues, engineers, consultants; when we work for a client or society at large in times of increasing national and populist agendas.

Developed as an evolving artist residency building in collaboration with Rirkrit Tiravanija and Michel Müller, the project Do We Dream Under The Same Sky unfolds the practice of architecture in all its formats: drawing, planning, teaching, collaboration, engineering, constructing, funding, exhibiting, cooking, curating, publishing. The process evolves like a surrealist exquisite corpse, ultimately deconstructing and critically appraising the role of the architect. 

Nikolaus Hirsch is a Frankfurt-based architect and co-founder of e-flux architecture. He was the director of Städelschule academy in Frankfurt. His projects include the award-winning Dresden Synagogue and currently an artist residency at The Land. Hirsch curated numerous exhibitions including Mengele´s Skull at Portikus Kunsthalle, Folly for the Gwangju Biennale and Housing Question at HKW Berlin.

Image: Nikolaus Hirsch, Michel Müller, Rirkrit Tiravanija, Do We Dream Under The Same Sky, Aarhus, 2017.
Photo: Nikolaus Hirsch / Michel Müller

All lectures are open to members of the public, staff and students unless otherwise stated.

August 2019
Su M Tu W Th F Sa


AA Photo Library has DVD copies of Public Programme lectures dating back to 1974


Online Lectures
Lecture Archive



For any issues with video playback please contact
AA Digital Platforms

The Architectural Association, Inc. is incorporated as a company limited by guarantee (No.171402) and registered as a charity (No. 311083). Registered office: 36 Bedford Square, London WC1B 3ES, 020 7887 4000

Click here to read the AA’s latest review report.

Click here to read the AA’s latest action plan.