FALA Atelier


Series: Evening Lecture
Date: Thursday 11 May 2017
Time: 18:30
Venue: Lecture Hall
Running time: 100 mins

The continuous use of certain specific motifs defines an architectural vocabulary, a particular language. This lecture will address FALA’s tropes.

FALA is a naïve architecture practice based in Oporto, led by Filipe Magalhães, Ana Luisa Soares and Ahmed Belkhodja. Established in 2013, the atelier works with methodical optimism on a wide range of projects, from territories to birdhouses. FALA’s projects are a medley of formal languages, references, quotations, and themes, only regulated by an obsession for clarity; its architecture is both hedonistic and post-modern, intuitive and rhetorical.

Filipe Magalhães (porto, 1987) graduated in architecture at Faculdade de Arquitectura do Porto and Fakulteta za Arhitekturo in Ljubljana; with a thesis titled ‘between the abstract and the figurative’. He has worked with Harry Gugger in Basel and SANAA in Tokyo. He is currently a Visiting Professor at Bratislava’s Faculty of Architecture.

Ana Luisa Soares (porto, 1988) graduated in architecture at Faculdade de Arquitectura do Porto and Tokyo University; with a thesis titled ‘the matter of ideas’. She worked with Harry Gugger in Basel and Toyo Ito in Tokyo. She is currently a a Visiting Professor at Bratislava’s Faculty of Architecture.

Ahmed Belkhodja (lausanne, 1990) graduated in architecture from the ETH, Zurich after having also studied in Lausanne, Gothenburg and Singapore; he also worked with Harry Gugger in Basel, Obra architects in New York, and Atelier Bow-Wow in Tokyo.

All lectures are open to members of the public, staff and students unless otherwise stated.

December 2019
Su M Tu W Th F Sa


AA Photo Library has DVD copies of Public Programme lectures dating back to 1974


Online Lectures
Lecture Archive



For any issues with video playback please contact
AA Digital Platforms

The Architectural Association, Inc. is incorporated as a company limited by guarantee (No.171402) and registered as a charity (No. 311083). Registered office: 36 Bedford Square, London WC1B 3ES, 020 7887 4000

Click here to read the AA’s latest review report.

Click here to read the AA’s latest action plan.



The Architectural Association receives Taught Degree Awarding Powers by the Lords of Her Majesty’s Most Honourable Privy Council.

The Architectural Association (AA), the oldest independent school of architecture in the United Kingdom, is pleased to announce that it has been granted the power to award its own degrees. As of 1 October 2019, the AA has the right to establish new academic programmes and degree awards and is working to create some of the world’s most pioneering courses in architecture to shape and build the future.

Taught Degree Awarding Powers (TDAP) give UK higher education institutions the right to award bachelor’s and master’s degrees. Prospective students worldwide can apply to the AA Foundation Course (Foundation Certificate), Experimental Programme BA(Hons), Diploma Programme (MArch), and nine taught postgraduate programmes encompassing History and Critical Thinking in Architecture (MA), Projective Cities (Taught MPhil) and Sustainable Environmental Design (MSc/MArch), amongst others.

AA Director, Eva Franch said, ‘since our founding in 1847 we have never ceased to create new horizons, institutionally and academically. This is a significant milestone for the AA and demonstrates how we have grown and progressed as an institution that has always valued independence. Receiving TDAP marks a new era for our institution; these are exciting times for the AA. The process has required considerable work from all members of staff and students. I would like to take this opportunity to credit them for this major achievement’.

President of the AA Council, Victoria Thornton added, ‘the TDAP process has recognised our strong governance, academic standards, scholarship and teaching as well as the environment supporting the delivery of taught higher education programmes’.

The School’s application for Taught Degree Awarding Powers was supported by the Architects Registration Board, the Royal Institute of British Architects and The Open University.