Organised by Samantha Hardingham

Cedric Price Works 1952–2003: A Forward-Minded Retrospective

Series: Symposium
Date: Friday 14 October 2016
Time: 10:00
Venue: AA Lecture Hall
Running time: 185 mins

A one-day event to celebrate the publication of a two-volume anthology of the projects, talks and articles of architect Cedric Price. The books are written and edited by Samantha Hardingham and co-published by the Architectural Association and the Canadian Centre for Architecture, Montreal.

Office members from Cedric Price Architects, colleagues and collaborators will participate in conversations, competitions and chance encounters throughout the day that address themes within the work in relation to that most intensely imaginative and experimental period of the second half of the twentieth century, through which Price shaped his practice. 

Please note:This event will be ticketed with priority given to AA Staff, Students and Members. All tickets are allocated on a first-come-first-served basis subject to availability with a limit of 1 ticket per person. Tickets will be released on Monday, 10 October at 2pm. To get your ticket please visit the following link:


If you are unable to obtain a ticket - the lecture will be live streamed - to access the stream please click on the following link on Friday, 14 October from 10am:


Special announcement:
A new model of Price’s CASTEL/HOUSE FOR SALE (1980) design will be on display in the Rear Presentation Space all day and is the subject for our name-the-cat competition – all guests are invited to participate and the winner will be announced in the evening.

Schedule for the day:
10am – Lecture Hall
Introduction by Samantha Hardingham

10.15 – 11.30am: The People are in Control
Former members of the office and project collaborators from the 1960s and 70s recall and discuss Price’s early built and unbuilt works, and reflect on how their experiences impacted on their future way of working. Idiosyncratic office conduct and codes will be remembered and celebrated.
CHAIR: Jeremy Melvin
Will Alsop
Patricia Eggert
John Frazer
Julia Frazer
John Lyall
Stephen Mullin

12.00 – 1.15pm: Calculated Uncertainty
This panel comprises individuals who played a vital part in interpreting Price’s words and writings for published form from the 1960s onwards. Each member of the panel has at one time or other been an editor of a major architectural or cultural magazine and will discuss the role of talking and writing in Price’s architectural project-making.
CHAIR: Brett Steele
Paul Barker
Paul Finch
Robin Middleton
Peter Murray
Kester Rattenbury


2.30-3.45pm: A Forward-minded Retrospective
This discussion focuses on the archiving and interpretation of Price’s work whilst the office was still in operation up until 2001, and following his death in 2003. The panel comprises some individuals who were directly involved in the transition from office-to-archive and others who have developed projects since then and without ever having had the pleasure of meeting Price.
CHAIR: Samantha Hardingham
Albert Ferré – Director of Publications, CCA
Nicholas Olsberg – former Director at the CCA
Jan Nauta & Viktor Vroegindeweij – Memory Bank
Saskia van Stein – Bureau Europa, Maastricht 

5pm – Front Members' Room
Time to view Memory Bank in the Front Members Room and participate in Castel/House for Sale name-the-cat competition in the Rear Presentation Space.

6pm – Rear Presentation Space
Announcement of the winner and prize-giving for the name-the-cat competition.

6.30pm – Book Launch and drinks reception
Speeches will be given by Brett Steele, Eleanor Bron and Samantha Hardingham


All lectures are open to members of the public, staff and students unless otherwise stated.

February 2020
Su M Tu W Th F Sa


AA Photo Library has DVD copies of Public Programme lectures dating back to 1974


Online Lectures
Lecture Archive



For any issues with video playback please contact
AA Digital Platforms

The Architectural Association, Inc. is incorporated as a company limited by guarantee (No.171402) and registered as a charity (No. 311083). Registered office: 36 Bedford Square, London WC1B 3ES, 020 7887 4000

Click here to read the AA’s latest review report.

Click here to read the AA’s latest action plan.



The Architectural Association receives Taught Degree Awarding Powers by the Lords of Her Majesty’s Most Honourable Privy Council.

The Architectural Association (AA), the oldest independent school of architecture in the United Kingdom, is pleased to announce that it has been granted the power to award its own degrees. As of 1 October 2019, the AA has the right to establish new academic programmes and degree awards and is working to create some of the world’s most pioneering courses in architecture to shape and build the future.

Taught Degree Awarding Powers (TDAP) give UK higher education institutions the right to award bachelor’s and master’s degrees. Prospective students worldwide can apply to the AA Foundation Course (Foundation Diploma), Experimental Programme BA(Hons), Diploma Programme (MArch), and nine taught postgraduate programmes encompassing History and Critical Thinking in Architecture (MA), Projective Cities (Taught MPhil) and Sustainable Environmental Design (MSc/MArch), amongst others.

AA Director, Eva Franch said, ‘since our founding in 1847 we have never ceased to create new horizons, institutionally and academically. This is a significant milestone for the AA and demonstrates how we have grown and progressed as an institution that has always valued independence. Receiving TDAP marks a new era for our institution; these are exciting times for the AA. The process has required considerable work from all members of staff and students. I would like to take this opportunity to credit them for this major achievement’.

President of the AA Council, Victoria Thornton added, ‘the TDAP process has recognised our strong governance, academic standards, scholarship and teaching as well as the environment supporting the delivery of taught higher education programmes’.

The School’s application for Taught Degree Awarding Powers was supported by the Architects Registration Board, the Royal Institute of British Architects and The Open University.