Important COVID-19 / Coronavirus information and FAQs


A Brief History of Invisible Art

Date: Friday 9 March 2007
Time: 00:00
Running time: 85 mins
'To represent something is in a sense to make it visible to others as a possible object of reality. In eschewing this scenario, invisible artworks divert our focus from the physical and tend to increase the visibility of the artist's own role. They underscore the part played by our own responses in forging meaning from our encounters with art as well as the social and physical scaffolding that shapes its presentation. In this respect, invisible art belongs to a tradition of contemporary art predicated on the idea that an artwork is a collaboration involving the labour of both the artist and the audience. Somewhat paradoxically, it is precisely as a kind of rhetorical limit to artistic practice that invisibility can help us to rethink our relationship to the visible. There's no limit to the potential meanings that can be constructed around invisibility as a trope.' From Yves Klein's utopian plans for an 'architecture of air' to Tom Friedman's sculpture of a cursed space above a plinth, via works by Michael Asher, James Lee Byars, Bruno Jakob, Jay Chung and others, Ralph Rugoff traces a brief history of invisible art. Ralph Rugoff is Director of the Hayward Gallery. His publications include monographs on George Condo, Mark Wallinger and Anya Gallacio. In 2005 he won the inaugural Ordway prize (in the category for arts writer and/or curator).

All lectures are open to members of the public, staff and students unless otherwise stated.

April 2020
Su M Tu W Th F Sa


AA Photo Library has DVD copies of Public Programme lectures dating back to 1974


Online Lectures
Lecture Archive



For any issues with video playback please contact
AA Digital Platforms

The Architectural Association, Inc. is incorporated as a company limited by guarantee (No.171402) and registered as a charity (No. 311083). Registered office: 36 Bedford Square, London WC1B 3ES, 020 7887 4000

Click here to read the AA’s latest review report.

Click here to read the AA’s latest action plan.



The Architectural Association receives Taught Degree Awarding Powers by the Lords of Her Majesty’s Most Honourable Privy Council.

The Architectural Association (AA), the oldest independent school of architecture in the United Kingdom, is pleased to announce that it has been granted the power to award its own degrees. As of 1 October 2019, the AA has the right to establish new academic programmes and degree awards and is working to create some of the world’s most pioneering courses in architecture to shape and build the future.

Taught Degree Awarding Powers (TDAP) give UK higher education institutions the right to award bachelor’s and master’s degrees. Prospective students worldwide can apply to the AA Foundation Course (Foundation Diploma), Experimental Programme BA(Hons), Diploma Programme (MArch), and nine taught postgraduate programmes encompassing History and Critical Thinking in Architecture (MA), Projective Cities (Taught MPhil) and Sustainable Environmental Design (MSc/MArch), amongst others.

AA Director, Eva Franch said, ‘since our founding in 1847 we have never ceased to create new horizons, institutionally and academically. This is a significant milestone for the AA and demonstrates how we have grown and progressed as an institution that has always valued independence. Receiving TDAP marks a new era for our institution; these are exciting times for the AA. The process has required considerable work from all members of staff and students. I would like to take this opportunity to credit them for this major achievement’.

President of the AA Council, Victoria Thornton added, ‘the TDAP process has recognised our strong governance, academic standards, scholarship and teaching as well as the environment supporting the delivery of taught higher education programmes’.

The School’s application for Taught Degree Awarding Powers was supported by the Architects Registration Board, the Royal Institute of British Architects and The Open University.