KOHN, Eugene (KPF)

The Global Practice

Series: Evening Lecture
Date: Wednesday 17 November 2010
Time: 18:00
Venue: Lecture Hall
Running time: 95 mins

This lecture on global practice will focus on the role and responsibility of the architect. Vignettes from KPF’s history—from its founding in the midst of a recession to its continuing growth as a global leader—will illustrate the interdependence of teamwork and leadership, the importance of client relationships, the impact of the economy on architecture, the value of optimism, and the meaning of social responsibility as it relates to design and business. 

Eugene Kohn will share his experience of starting an architecture practice in a challenging economic climate and will examine how economic cycles affect the types of architecture and buildings that are produced.

As a cofounder and principal of Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates, A. Eugene Kohn has led the firm to become one of the world’s most respected and innovative architectural design practices. Under his direction, KPF has earned more than 300 design awards, including seven AIA National Honor Awards. In 1990 KPF became the youngest firm ever to receive the AIA Architectural Firm Award – the institute’s most prestigious honour.

Most recently, Kohn received The Soane Foundation Honors and the 2010 Alumni Award of Merit by the University of Pennsylvania, the highest university-wide award presented to alumni by Penn. Since 2006 Eugene Kohn has been teaching Harvard Business School’s course in Real Estate Development, Design and Construction.

All lectures are open to members of the public, staff and students unless otherwise stated.

October 2019
Su M Tu W Th F Sa


AA Photo Library has DVD copies of Public Programme lectures dating back to 1974


Online Lectures
Lecture Archive



For any issues with video playback please contact
AA Digital Platforms

The Architectural Association, Inc. is incorporated as a company limited by guarantee (No.171402) and registered as a charity (No. 311083). Registered office: 36 Bedford Square, London WC1B 3ES, 020 7887 4000

Click here to read the AA’s latest review report.

Click here to read the AA’s latest action plan.



The Architectural Association receives Taught Degree Awarding Powers by the Lords of Her Majesty’s Most Honourable Privy Council.

The Architectural Association (AA), the oldest independent school of architecture in the United Kingdom, is pleased to announce that it has been granted the power to award its own degrees. As of 1 October 2019, the AA has the right to establish new academic programmes and degree awards and is working to create some of the world’s most pioneering courses in architecture to shape and build the future.

Taught Degree Awarding Powers (TDAP) give UK higher education institutions the right to award bachelor’s and master’s degrees. Prospective students worldwide can apply to the AA Foundation Course (Foundation Certificate), Experimental Programme BA(Hons), Diploma Programme (MArch), and nine taught postgraduate programmes encompassing History and Critical Thinking in Architecture (MA), Projective Cities (Taught MPhil) and Sustainable Environmental Design (MSc/MArch), amongst others.

AA Director, Eva Franch said, ‘since our founding in 1847 we have never ceased to create new horizons, institutionally and academically. This is a significant milestone for the AA and demonstrates how we have grown and progressed as an institution that has always valued independence. Receiving TDAP marks a new era for our institution; these are exciting times for the AA. The process has required considerable work from all members of staff and students. I would like to take this opportunity to credit them for this major achievement’.

President of the AA Council, Victoria Thornton added, ‘the TDAP process has recognised our strong governance, academic standards, scholarship and teaching as well as the environment supporting the delivery of taught higher education programmes’.

The School’s application for Taught Degree Awarding Powers was supported by the Architects Registration Board, the Royal Institute of British Architects and The Open University.