JENCKS, Charles

The Architecture of Hope

Date: Monday 19 April 2010
Time: 18:03
Running time: 140 mins

The lecture focuses on Maggie’s Centres, cancer care centres that offer a fresh approach to both architecture and health. The centres are a new mixed building type for healing that have different roots in the past. The ‘architecture of hope’ refers to this emergent hybrid genre, consisting of various metaphors that correspond to the many different types of cancer and their various treatments.

Named after Maggie Keswick and co-founded with her husband Charles Jencks, Maggie’s Centres have been designed by Richard Murphy, Page and Park, Frank Gehry, Zaha Hadid and Richard Rogers. Further projects include buildings by Richard MacCormac, Piers Gough, Wilkinson Eyre and Rem Koolhaas.

Charles Jencks lectures, writes and designs in the USA, the UK and Europe. He is the author of the best-selling The Language of Post-Modern Architecture (re-issued as The New Paradigm in Architecture, 2002) and numerous other books on contemporary arts and building, most recently The Architecture of Hope with Edwin Heathcote (Frances Lincoln 2010). His celebrated garden in Scotland is the subject of The Garden of Cosmic Speculation (Frances Lincoln, 2003). He won the Gulbenkian Prize for Museums for his design, Landform Ueda.

All lectures are open to members of the public, staff and students unless otherwise stated.

February 2020
Su M Tu W Th F Sa


AA Photo Library has DVD copies of Public Programme lectures dating back to 1974


Online Lectures
Lecture Archive



For any issues with video playback please contact
AA Digital Platforms

The Architectural Association, Inc. is incorporated as a company limited by guarantee (No.171402) and registered as a charity (No. 311083). Registered office: 36 Bedford Square, London WC1B 3ES, 020 7887 4000

Click here to read the AA’s latest review report.

Click here to read the AA’s latest action plan.



The Architectural Association receives Taught Degree Awarding Powers by the Lords of Her Majesty’s Most Honourable Privy Council.

The Architectural Association (AA), the oldest independent school of architecture in the United Kingdom, is pleased to announce that it has been granted the power to award its own degrees. As of 1 October 2019, the AA has the right to establish new academic programmes and degree awards and is working to create some of the world’s most pioneering courses in architecture to shape and build the future.

Taught Degree Awarding Powers (TDAP) give UK higher education institutions the right to award bachelor’s and master’s degrees. Prospective students worldwide can apply to the AA Foundation Course (Foundation Diploma), Experimental Programme BA(Hons), Diploma Programme (MArch), and nine taught postgraduate programmes encompassing History and Critical Thinking in Architecture (MA), Projective Cities (Taught MPhil) and Sustainable Environmental Design (MSc/MArch), amongst others.

AA Director, Eva Franch said, ‘since our founding in 1847 we have never ceased to create new horizons, institutionally and academically. This is a significant milestone for the AA and demonstrates how we have grown and progressed as an institution that has always valued independence. Receiving TDAP marks a new era for our institution; these are exciting times for the AA. The process has required considerable work from all members of staff and students. I would like to take this opportunity to credit them for this major achievement’.

President of the AA Council, Victoria Thornton added, ‘the TDAP process has recognised our strong governance, academic standards, scholarship and teaching as well as the environment supporting the delivery of taught higher education programmes’.

The School’s application for Taught Degree Awarding Powers was supported by the Architects Registration Board, the Royal Institute of British Architects and The Open University.