Important COVID-19 / Coronavirus information and FAQs

AA Honours, Prizes & Exemplary Projects 2017-18


AA Gallery 19/9/2018 - 20/10/2018

Monday to Friday 10:00-19:00, Saturday 10:00-17:00.

This exhibition presents the work of the four students who were awarded the AA Diploma with Honours in the 2017-18 academic year alongside prizewinners as well as exemplary projects completed at the end of Third Year. Also included in the exhibition is a slideshow of selected Diploma Honours projects from 1930-2017, compiled by the AA Archives.

The recipients of the AA Diploma with Honours are:
Zsuzsa Peter, Diploma 5 – C24 – A landscape of light and darkness for a commune of resistance
Etienne Gilly, Diploma 9 – Minigrids: Encoding participation in the European Union
Shaan Patel, Diploma 14 – Remaining Common(s)
Dalia Frontini Matsuura, Diploma 16 - Prajapati’s Painted Bodhi: the Fourth Dimensional Canvas

The nominated exemplary projects at the end of Third Year are:
Intermediate Unit 1: Xixin Ye
Intermediate Unit 2: Ainhoa Schapira
Intermediate Unit 3: Mamoru Hoshi
Intermediate Unit 4: Sooyeon Lim
Intermediate Unit 5: Camille Bongard
Intermediate Unit 6: Nena Aru
Intermediate Unit 7: Allister Low
Intermediate Unit 8: Marina Gubbins
Intermediate Unit 9: Shaha Raphael
Intermediate Unit 10: Esther Brizard
Intermediate Unit 11: Yongbin Shin
Intermediate Unit 12: Emma Voisin Isdahl
Intermediate Unit 13: Vivian Olawepo
Intermediate Unit 14: Jun Ho Yim
Intermediate Unit 15: Sheng-ya Huang
Intermediate Unit 16: Yu-Cheng Su

For a full list of prizewinners, please visit Awards 2018

Contact details

Director's Office:
T: +44 (0)20 7887 4026


View AA Weekly

Download Events List (PDF)

The Architectural Association, Inc. is incorporated as a company limited by guarantee (No.171402) and registered as a charity (No. 311083). Registered office: 36 Bedford Square, London WC1B 3ES, 020 7887 4000

Click here to read the AA’s latest review report.

Click here to read the AA’s latest action plan.



The Architectural Association receives Taught Degree Awarding Powers by the Lords of Her Majesty’s Most Honourable Privy Council.

The Architectural Association (AA), the oldest independent school of architecture in the United Kingdom, is pleased to announce that it has been granted the power to award its own degrees. As of 1 October 2019, the AA has the right to establish new academic programmes and degree awards and is working to create some of the world’s most pioneering courses in architecture to shape and build the future.

Taught Degree Awarding Powers (TDAP) give UK higher education institutions the right to award bachelor’s and master’s degrees. Prospective students worldwide can apply to the AA Foundation Course (Foundation Diploma), Experimental Programme BA(Hons), Diploma Programme (MArch), and nine taught postgraduate programmes encompassing History and Critical Thinking in Architecture (MA), Projective Cities (Taught MPhil) and Sustainable Environmental Design (MSc/MArch), amongst others.

AA Director, Eva Franch said, ‘since our founding in 1847 we have never ceased to create new horizons, institutionally and academically. This is a significant milestone for the AA and demonstrates how we have grown and progressed as an institution that has always valued independence. Receiving TDAP marks a new era for our institution; these are exciting times for the AA. The process has required considerable work from all members of staff and students. I would like to take this opportunity to credit them for this major achievement’.

President of the AA Council, Victoria Thornton added, ‘the TDAP process has recognised our strong governance, academic standards, scholarship and teaching as well as the environment supporting the delivery of taught higher education programmes’.

The School’s application for Taught Degree Awarding Powers was supported by the Architects Registration Board, the Royal Institute of British Architects and The Open University.