Architecture in the Extreme

Antarctica 200 - Polar Lab

AA Gallery 15/9/2019 - 27/9/2019

Monday to Friday 10:00-19:00, Saturday 10:00-17:00

ANTARCTICA 200 participates to the London Design Festival by curating a dense agenda of events that bring together, for the first time, architects who operate in Antarctica and polar experts to debate the unique challenges of building in such an extreme environment.

Run by Antarctica 200 and its Polar Lab, the 168 hours-long programme includes a series of Round Tables and Lectures, an Exhibition and a Student Workshop.

Held at the Architectural Association - where the Polar Lab was conceived - ARCHITECTURE IN THE EXTREME will act as a think-tank, mobilizing Polar Lab students and cross-disciplinary specialists to unveil neglected experimental Antarctic stations and construct the Archive of Antarctic Architecture.

The workshop provides the first occasion for the Polar Lab students researching at the Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile, Hong Kong University and the Architectural Association to converge in London for a joint Polar Lab session. 

During the course of the workshop, the students will develop the Antarctic Architecture Archive which will be displayed in the format of an exhibition. The latter can be visited at any time for the duration of the London Design Festival.

The workshop will be punctuated by Antarctic Conversations between the students and the architects contributing to the round tables. A detailed presentation on individual scientific stations will precede such conversations.

The calendar of Antarctic Conversations is as follows:

Monday 16th

11:00 – 12:00 am Rick Petersen on MC. MURDO (USA scientific station)

14:00 – 15:00 pm Hugh Broughton on SCOTT BASE (New Zealand scientific station)

Tuesday 17th

11:00 – 12:00 am Philippe Samyn on PRINCESS ELIZABETH (Belgian scientific station)

Thursday 19th

11:00 – 12:00 am Francesco Pellegrino on CONCORDIA (Italo-French scientific station) 

14:00 – 15:00 pm Bert Bücking on VOSTOK (Russian scientific station)


Curator: Giulia Foscari

London Design Festival Partner: Antarctica 200

Antarctica 200 Directors: Giulia Foscari, Francesco Bandarin

Polar Lab Directors: (Hong Kong) Juan Du, (Chile) Arturo Lyon, (UK) Giulia Foscari and Francesco Bandarin.

AA Honours, Prizes & Exemplary Projects 2018-19


AA Residence (33 Ground Floor Front) 16/9/2019 - 8/6/2020

Monday to Friday 10:00-19:00, Saturday & Sunday 10:00-17:00.

This exhibition presents the work of the four students who were awarded the AA Diploma with Honours in the 2018-19 academic year alongside prizewinners as well as exemplary projects completed at the end of Third Year as well as from the postgraduate programmes.

This exhibition is on permanent display throughout the 2019-2020 academic year in the AA Residence - a cultural platform exploring and studying new ideas and forms of practice at the intersection of architecture, art, technology, policy, and design. Composed of a series of independent Labs researching and producing experimental work, each Lab includes an interdisciplinary cohort of resident fellows. The AA Residence also works as an incubator with a shared workspace and professional development programme, giving architects and entrepreneurs the tools they need to build new practices and launch projects that impact, promote, and amplify culture and contribute to the reimagination of the future.

The recipients of the AA Diploma with Honours are:

Lola Elise Conte, Diploma 3 - Field Notes from the Space of Law
Eva Ibañez Fuertes, Diploma 4 - Design or Default
Caroline Anne Johanna Esclapez, Diploma 14 - Occupy: A User's Manual for the Occupation of Public Space
Samuel John Little, Diploma 18 - Universal Frames Headquarters

The nominated exemplary projects at the end of Third Year are:

Intermediate Unit 1: Aizhen Chen
Intermediate Unit 2: Aleksander Aksentijevic
Intermediate Unit 3: Ludvig Julius Holmen
Intermediate Unit 4: Jia Long Feng
Intermediate Unit 5: Thomas Andrew Faulkner
Intermediate Unit 6: Georgia Kestekoglou
Intermediate Unit 7: Martin Wecke 
Intermediate Unit 8: Mira Oktay
Intermediate Unit 9: Ylam Monique Raky Deme
Intermediate Unit 10: Alexander Zikanov
Intermediate Unit 11: Elisa Commanay 
Intermediate Unit 12:Anne-lise Fifame Ahoukan Agossa
Intermediate Unit 13: Da Gyung Lee
Intermediate Unit 14: Lilian Pala
Intermediate Unit 15: Tamara Husam Rasoul

For a full list of prizewinners, please visit Awards 2019

Image: Caroline Esclapez presenting for AA Honours in the Lecture Hall. Credit: Byron Blakeley.

Contact details

Director's Office:
T: +44 (0)20 7887 4026


View AA Weekly

Download Events List (PDF)

The Architectural Association, Inc. is incorporated as a company limited by guarantee (No.171402) and registered as a charity (No. 311083). Registered office: 36 Bedford Square, London WC1B 3ES, 020 7887 4000

Click here to read the AA’s latest review report.

Click here to read the AA’s latest action plan.