2020 Michael Ventris Award for Architecture

The trustees of the Michael Ventris Memorial Fund would like to invite applications for the 2020 Michael Ventris Award for Architecture. This year the award is exceptional in that one award of £5000 will be given to an applicant for an independent project with clear outcomes that will be judged according to the quality of the proposal, and the potential value of its outputs in the field of architecture today. The fund was established in 1956, in memory of Michael Ventris, an AA alumnus who became world-famous for deciphering the ancient Greek script of Linear B, while also practising as a successful architect.


Anyone working in the field of architecture and buildings is eligible to apply. Applicants must be enrolled on, or have a degree in a subject related to the proposed project, and the award is open to entrants from all countries. The award is intended to support a high quality stand-alone project, and funding will not be awarded for a continuing programme of study.


Projects submitted for the award should demonstrate their contribution to the field of architecture and be accompanied by a specific brief to include the clear objectives of the project, an outline of how it will be achieved and its proposed outputs. A draft programme of work with a cost must be included. Travel, subsistence, equipment and other enabling costs are eligible. A brief biography of the applicant must be also included. All applications should be in PDF format and must not exceed six single sides of A4. In addition, two reference letters supporting the application should be sent directly from the referees.


Please email applications to Roberta Jenkins at directorsoffice@aaschool.ac.uk by Friday, 28 February 2020 and write ‘Michael Ventris Application’ in the subject line. Applications received after this date will not be considered.


The award will be judged by a panel under the auspices of the Trustees of the Michael Ventris Award, in conjunction with the Architectural Association. Payment of the award will be made in two instalments. The first of three quarters of the sum immediately, following the announcement of the award in June 2020. The last quarter will be paid to successful candidates on submission of t a written report on the completed work to the Advisory Committee by 1 March 2021 at the latest. The recipient may also be invited to make a public presentation of the outcome of the award at the Architectural Association School of Architecture.


For further information, please contact Manolis Stavrakakis, the recipient of the Michael Ventris Award for Architecture in 2011, and the academic coordinator of the award on behalf of the AA, at stavrakakis@aaschool.ac.uk

Date Submitted: 10/10/2019


The AA School in realtime


The Architectural Association, Inc. is incorporated as a company limited by guarantee (No.171402) and registered as a charity (No. 311083). Registered office: 36 Bedford Square, London WC1B 3ES, 020 7887 4000

Click here to read the AA’s latest review report.

Click here to read the AA’s latest action plan.



The Architectural Association receives Taught Degree Awarding Powers by the Lords of Her Majesty’s Most Honourable Privy Council.

The Architectural Association (AA), the oldest independent school of architecture in the United Kingdom, is pleased to announce that it has been granted the power to award its own degrees. As of 1 October 2019, the AA has the right to establish new academic programmes and degree awards and is working to create some of the world’s most pioneering courses in architecture to shape and build the future.

Taught Degree Awarding Powers (TDAP) give UK higher education institutions the right to award bachelor’s and master’s degrees. Prospective students worldwide can apply to the AA Foundation Course (Foundation Diploma), Experimental Programme BA(Hons), Diploma Programme (MArch), and nine taught postgraduate programmes encompassing History and Critical Thinking in Architecture (MA), Projective Cities (Taught MPhil) and Sustainable Environmental Design (MSc/MArch), amongst others.

AA Director, Eva Franch said, ‘since our founding in 1847 we have never ceased to create new horizons, institutionally and academically. This is a significant milestone for the AA and demonstrates how we have grown and progressed as an institution that has always valued independence. Receiving TDAP marks a new era for our institution; these are exciting times for the AA. The process has required considerable work from all members of staff and students. I would like to take this opportunity to credit them for this major achievement’.

President of the AA Council, Victoria Thornton added, ‘the TDAP process has recognised our strong governance, academic standards, scholarship and teaching as well as the environment supporting the delivery of taught higher education programmes’.

The School’s application for Taught Degree Awarding Powers was supported by the Architects Registration Board, the Royal Institute of British Architects and The Open University.