Important COVID-19 / Coronavirus information and FAQs

AA student work is the School’s greatest asset. In recognition of this, the AA awards prizes and distinctions at all levels. The list of prizes for the end of each academic year is announced at the Graduation Ceremony preceding the opening of Projects Review. In 2018/19 the prizes were awarded as follows:


Alex Stanhope Forbes Prize

This prize is for work in the field of colour and named for William Alexander Stanhope Forbes, a ‘brilliant student’ at the AA who ‘excelled as a colourist’.

Ioana Man, Fifth Year

Brian Henderson Prize

This award looks to celebrate and acknowledge the abiding artistry and vision associated with the hand-drawn architectural image. It has been set up in memory of Brian Henderson, who was instrumental in establishing the Architectural Association Foundation in 1989.

Timothy O'Hare, Fifth Year

Dennis Sharp Prize

Established in 2010 in memory of Dennis Sharp, the prize celebrates the craft of architectural writing and critique and is awarded for outstanding writing in the Diploma School.

Jiehui Chen, Fifth Year

Malgorzata Stanislawek, Fourth Year

Denys Lasdun Award for Excellence in Architecture

Awarded at 3rd Year level in memory of Denys Lasdun, for work considered to be of outstanding merit

Thomas Faulkner, Third Year

Henry Florence Studentship

This prize was established in 1916 in the name of the AA President from 1878-9. Henry Florence is known for building hotels, among them the Connaught in Mayfair, W1.

Yee Thong Chai, Fifth Year

Henry Saxon Snell Prize

This prize was established in 1909 ‘to encourage a study of the design and construction of hospitals, and of convalescent homes'.

Abhinav Jain, Fourth Year

Holloway Trust Prize

This award was set up by Sir Henry Holloway for work relating to the building industry.

Samuel Little, Fifth Year

Howard Colls Studentship

This award comes from a bequest made in 1911, for the best drawings at the end of 4th Year.

Jack Isles, Fourth Year

Tobias Hentzer Dausgaard, Fourth Year

Julia Wood Foundation Prize

This prize was established in 2004 in recognition of Julia Wood’s dedication and contribution to the success of the Foundation Course at the AA

Vasco Giovannoni, Foundation Year

Ralph Knott Memorial Prize

This award was established in 1931 for the benefit of architectural students.

John Wilhelm Buster Ronngren, Fourth Year

William Glover Prize

Established in 1913 for William Glover who was President of the Northern AA from 1899-1901.

Ryan Cook, Fifth Year

Yu-Hsiang Wang, Fifth Year

Daria Nepop, Third Year

David & Beverly Bernstein Award

Annual award for the best final submission within Housing & Urbanism MA and MArch Courses (finishing Oct or Feb), to help disseminate ideas and conclusions contained in their final dissertation that can be of relevance to address housing and urban issues in the developing world.

Santiago Benenati, MArch Housing and Urbanism

AAF Travel Award

This award was established in 1881 to enable students to travel and otherwise improve their knowledge of architecture.

Judi Diab, Second Year

Alexander Memorial Travel Prize

H J W Alexander was Secretary of the AA 1937-62. This fund was established to ‘enable students to travel abroad to study architecture’.

Ashirai Musikavanhu, First Year

Jane Chu Travel Award

This award was set up by AA alumna Margaret Chow both to honour her mother and to enable students to travel.

Su Yeon Reina Mun, Second Year

Mike Davies Travel Award

The travel award is for the benefit of a student to fund their travel

Yasemin Yesilipek, Second Year

Peter Sabara Travel Award

This award is to honour the pursuits and endeavors to which Peter was committed, by enabling students to fulfill their passion for travel and learning.

Deri Mungo Russell, First Year

AA Prize

This prize is awarded annually to the student who has made significant contributions to the AA

Love di Marco, Fifth Year

Nicholas Boas Travel Scholarship

This travel scholarship, established in memory of former AA student Nicholas Boas (1975-1998) allows AA students to spend three weeks in Rome in July annually, based at the British School in Rome

Fiona Cuypers-Stanienda , Fourth Year

Aoi Phillips Yamashita , Fourth Year

History and Theory Studies Writing Award

Established in 2012, the HTS Writing Awards for First, Second and Third Year students aim to encourage students to have greater ambitions for their written work

Ferial Massoud, First Year

Deniz Ozcan, Second Year

Gabrielle Eglen, Third Year

Media Studies Annual Prizes

Awarded to the exemplary Media Studies work at First and Second Year levels

Yuyi Jiang, First Year

Aimee Chen, , Third Year

Technical Studies Annual Prizes

Awarded to the outstanding Techinical Projects at Third and Fifth year levels

Thomas Faulkner, Third Year

Yuen Yi Low, Fifth Year

Student Choice Diploma Honours

As voted for by the students

Ka Yu Kevin Chan, Fifth Year


Admissions Co-ordinator
Registrar’s Office
AA School of Architecture
36 Bedford Square
London WC1B 3ES

T: 020 7887 4051
F: 020 7414 0779

The Architectural Association, Inc. is incorporated as a company limited by guarantee (No.171402) and registered as a charity (No. 311083). Registered office: 36 Bedford Square, London WC1B 3ES, 020 7887 4000

Click here to read the AA’s latest review report.

Click here to read the AA’s latest action plan.



The Architectural Association receives Taught Degree Awarding Powers by the Lords of Her Majesty’s Most Honourable Privy Council.

The Architectural Association (AA), the oldest independent school of architecture in the United Kingdom, is pleased to announce that it has been granted the power to award its own degrees. As of 1 October 2019, the AA has the right to establish new academic programmes and degree awards and is working to create some of the world’s most pioneering courses in architecture to shape and build the future.

Taught Degree Awarding Powers (TDAP) give UK higher education institutions the right to award bachelor’s and master’s degrees. Prospective students worldwide can apply to the AA Foundation Course (Foundation Diploma), Experimental Programme BA(Hons), Diploma Programme (MArch), and nine taught postgraduate programmes encompassing History and Critical Thinking in Architecture (MA), Projective Cities (Taught MPhil) and Sustainable Environmental Design (MSc/MArch), amongst others.

AA Director, Eva Franch said, ‘since our founding in 1847 we have never ceased to create new horizons, institutionally and academically. This is a significant milestone for the AA and demonstrates how we have grown and progressed as an institution that has always valued independence. Receiving TDAP marks a new era for our institution; these are exciting times for the AA. The process has required considerable work from all members of staff and students. I would like to take this opportunity to credit them for this major achievement’.

President of the AA Council, Victoria Thornton added, ‘the TDAP process has recognised our strong governance, academic standards, scholarship and teaching as well as the environment supporting the delivery of taught higher education programmes’.

The School’s application for Taught Degree Awarding Powers was supported by the Architects Registration Board, the Royal Institute of British Architects and The Open University.