Important COVID-19 / Coronavirus information and FAQs

AA Foundation

Since its foundation in 1847, the AA has been independent and self-supporting. A pioneering higher-educational charitable environment, it receives no statutory funding for the running of the School and its associated public programme of events, lectures and exhibitions. The AA relies upon support to help uphold its worldwide status as one of the most influential schools of architecture in the world. Thanks to the generous contributions of AA Members, alumni and friends, the School continues to build on its reputation.

To ensure that our standards are maintained, additional support and continuous improvement for the School is needed. Every donation, whether large or small, helps the AA to look forward to a vibrant and successful future. Members can contribute in myriad ways, volunteering their time and expertise as well as through financial support.

A new Bursary Fund was set up at the start of 2009 by AA Members as part of the AA Foundation, an independent charitable trust established in 1989, which has already helped hundreds of deserving students at the AA. At the point of joining or renewing their subscription, Members are asked to contribute towards making study at the AA possible for talented students, whatever their financial means.
Registered charity no. 328455.

The Foundation’s trustees are Jim Eyre (Chair), Jo Bacon, Richard Baldwin, Lawrence Malcic and Christina Smith. AA Foundation bursaries and scholarships are distributed through the AA Bursary and Scholarship Committees, which are administered by the Registrar’s Office.

For further information email or contact the AAF Administrator on +44 (0) 20 7887 4018.

AA Foundation Annual Report and Financial Statements


Architectural Association
36 Bedford Square
London WC1B 3ES
+44(0)20 7887 4018

Member Events

Member Events

The Architectural Association, Inc. is incorporated as a company limited by guarantee (No.171402) and registered as a charity (No. 311083). Registered office: 36 Bedford Square, London WC1B 3ES, 020 7887 4000

Click here to read the AA’s latest review report.

Click here to read the AA’s latest action plan.



The Architectural Association receives Taught Degree Awarding Powers by the Lords of Her Majesty’s Most Honourable Privy Council.

The Architectural Association (AA), the oldest independent school of architecture in the United Kingdom, is pleased to announce that it has been granted the power to award its own degrees. As of 1 October 2019, the AA has the right to establish new academic programmes and degree awards and is working to create some of the world’s most pioneering courses in architecture to shape and build the future.

Taught Degree Awarding Powers (TDAP) give UK higher education institutions the right to award bachelor’s and master’s degrees. Prospective students worldwide can apply to the AA Foundation Course (Foundation Diploma), Experimental Programme BA(Hons), Diploma Programme (MArch), and nine taught postgraduate programmes encompassing History and Critical Thinking in Architecture (MA), Projective Cities (Taught MPhil) and Sustainable Environmental Design (MSc/MArch), amongst others.

AA Director, Eva Franch said, ‘since our founding in 1847 we have never ceased to create new horizons, institutionally and academically. This is a significant milestone for the AA and demonstrates how we have grown and progressed as an institution that has always valued independence. Receiving TDAP marks a new era for our institution; these are exciting times for the AA. The process has required considerable work from all members of staff and students. I would like to take this opportunity to credit them for this major achievement’.

President of the AA Council, Victoria Thornton added, ‘the TDAP process has recognised our strong governance, academic standards, scholarship and teaching as well as the environment supporting the delivery of taught higher education programmes’.

The School’s application for Taught Degree Awarding Powers was supported by the Architects Registration Board, the Royal Institute of British Architects and The Open University.